Skip to content

NaNo Dares 2012 Week 5 – Winning

November 30, 2012

National Novel Writing Month is a time to take risks, so every year in the forums, one can find threads where participants share and accept dares. Dares can be a fun way to spice up your novel or kick-start a scene when you get stuck. Sometimes they’re serious, and sometimes they’re silly, but they nearly always take you somewhere unexpected in your story. This month, in lieu of Friday Freewrites, I’ll be posting a dare each week for your NaNoWriMo novels (or any other fiction writing that you do this month).

*****

Your dare, should you choose to accept it, is this:

Reach the 50,000 word goal by midnight and win NaNoWriMo!

  • Bonus points if you start out at least one day behind on your wordcount.
  • Double bonus points if you start the day at more than 2,500 words behind.
  • Triple bonus points if you start the day at more than 5,000 words behind.
  • Quadruple bonus brownie points with sprinkles if you start the day at more than 10,000 words behind.

Congratulations to all!

*****

Let me know in the comments if you choose to accept all or part of this dare. And if you have your own dare for others, please share!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. November 30, 2012 2:10 am

    I’m 4,500 words behind and I fully intend to finish before my 6pm yoga class tonight 🙂

  2. November 30, 2012 7:37 am

    Reblogged this on Laith's Ramblings and commented:
    Everyone. Take up the Dare!

    • November 30, 2012 7:42 am

      And I started the day right at the 10k to go mark. +/- a bit depending on word counter.

      So lets see if I can manage the impossible… 3,500 is my previous record for one day’s writing

      • Anita M. King permalink*
        November 30, 2012 8:10 am

        I’ve had a 10k day before. It’s tough, but it’s possible. You’ve got to be real kind to your body if you want to make it through all that typing; drink plenty of water, take frequent breaks to get up and walk around, and all that.

        I’m starting with over 12k to write today, but this time I have the whole day off and don’t have to go in to work, so I might be able to make it if my arms don’t fall off first.

      • November 30, 2012 1:10 pm

        Unfortunately I have to work today. But I’m going to write every minute I can this evening.

      • November 30, 2012 10:09 pm

        Midnight has come. My final validation done.
        Win? Nope. Close? Yup 47,004
        Words Written Today 7,161

Trackbacks

  1. Writer’s Life Day 2- Dare You « Chillers And Thrillers

Leave a Reply

