Skip to content

Friday Freewrite #46 – Bench

October 5, 2012

Freewriting is an exercise in timed, stream of consciousness writing. It’s a fun and useful activity for writers of all types. Every week, I’ll provide a prompt as a springboard for freewriting. For more information on what freewriting is all about and how to do it, see this post.

*****

Today’s prompt is a photo:

Taken in Martinez, CA in July of 2008

*****

I hope this prompt has stirred some interesting thoughts and ideas for you! Freewriting is inherently messy and sometimes deeply personal, but if you feel comfortable sharing your results, please post as little or as much as you’d like in the comments.

Previous Prompt

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Inked Pen permalink
    October 5, 2012 10:43 pm

    ..”and on those summer days when the weight of the world has been lifted we would remain still and strong as mountains. I’d often say we were like soil and grass – just simply meant for one an others existence. And as awkward as the sky is blue to mention that – I loved plants and I was loved for that by them too. On cloudy days I’d only have to sit and think about the words between us and most to everything became clear. The world would lay a heavy weight upon our shoulders from time to time but underneath, we stuck it through. Holding hands under the stress until the wait lifted and then some. Because we did not rely on stress to bring us together, all of our flaws, hard work and determination to be seated in love remain built as one.”

    • Anita M. King permalink*
      October 30, 2012 8:34 pm

      This reminds me so much of what this photo meant to me when I originally took it. Thanks for sharing!

  2. October 6, 2012 4:29 pm

    Ta~da! Behold what I have puked out =D! Hot off the grammerless presses…BEHOLD:
    PS: I know youre not up for screen reading, im just posting this to get me in the fashion of being more accountable with my writing (looong story ;). Have a great weekend =D!

    It was good to get away and sit out in the open for once withOUT having to fight. I wasnt up for much more fighting as it was. I didnt think the dream would come true. and so far from what little ive been able to remember it hasnt. I look out to the hills and at the attenae array further down the range of hills. I notice smoke and a trail of light. Missle or a flyer. Im a flyer, but you dont see me going around wrecking shit for the hell of it! I stand up and consider going closer for a look. but then I sit back down. im tired of this alien turf war game we’re playing. Maybe I shouldve took the offer the Rebabelyon gave me. then again they arent th ebest of sector teams. Theyre high in the ranks, but they keep having bounties on them for doing stupid shit….wait…. I get up and fly toward the attenea array. Poeople walking nearby are shocked to see me, and run. Thats the typical response when you see a super power not of your sector. Run, or your life will just add to their score. I fly up a bit higher to avoid scaring anyone else. I dont let my team kill civilians to boost our score. I pplay capture when possible only on people we actually fight.
    I get closer to the smoke and can see its…a missle? I thought it maight be someone from the babelyon group doing something stupid. why is it flying in a circle like that? Suddenly it shoots off high into the sky. and about 10 seonds later explodes. I look down to see the smoke is from its silo. I hear sirens blaring from within the closing hole. Wait! Maybe a sector villian is breaking in to controll the place! I dart in through the opening before it closes too much. as I fly down the tub I hear warning over the intercom.
    “All units! All units be advised: missle test has been postponed due to enemy infiltration, kill at will.” it ordered, I looked around for an entry into the main area, and in the dark saw a blast door a few feet above the floor. I hate having to wreck things…and this time I didnt. THe door quickly opened to my relief. But to my misfortune on the other side awaited many uniformed men with assualt rifles and other heavy things I couldnt tell their purpose. I raise my hands in surrender.
    “Im here to help!”
    “Intruder located! orders sir?” asked one man into his radio. WAIT! Am I the intruder? I did hear the warning AFTER I entered.
    “Hey wait! I came in becuase I thought you guys were und-” I started, but couldnt finish.
    “Understood sir” he said with a nod and drawing his weapon. “SCRUB HER!” He shouted. Scrub? At that moment the large tube like weapon let out a sonic blasst and I felt myself knocked back. against the floor. I couldnt believe it. I face a bunch of aliens, terrorist and other crap, but when I enter a missle silo im gettin scrubbed. I assumed it was just holding me in place, but then I felt something I hadnt felt in a loooong time. Pain. It was small, but then it grew. Scrub? Scrub away my shielding? Or whatever the hell aura that is protecting me. I pushed myself against the constant blare. I could see his lips moving and him pointing around giving other orders, but I couldnt hear it. I dont want to kill them for a miscommunication. THey wouldnt even know why theyre dying, heh, know I see why they call us gods.

    . But with the way this is starting to hurt Im almost willing to do anything. I got myself to float, but instead of moving up, i was moving BACK! I was piunned against the wall now. Even if I couldve flown up, I couldnt get out. I dont think my blast are that strong. Suddenly the beams stop and I fall face first to the ground. I clutched my face in pain. I could feel my eyes warming and watering up. Like I said, been so long tsince I felt pain. But I couldnt tell if these were tears from the pain or tears of joy. I look up to see the man from before walking toward me alone.
    “We have a proposal for you in exchange for sparing your life.” He said offering me a paper….a mans face and name on it. Lord Benton.

Trackbacks

  1. Writing Strategies II, week 3: October 12th, 2012 | Writing Strategies & Research/Studies in English

Leave a Reply

