Skip to content

Friday Freewrite #40 – Alarm

August 10, 2012

Freewriting is an exercise in timed, stream of consciousness writing. It’s a fun and useful activity for writers of all types. Every week, I’ll provide a prompt as a springboard for freewriting. For more information on what freewriting is all about and how to do it, see this post.

*****

Today’s prompt is a photo:

Taken June of 2012 in Pleasant Hill, CA

*****

I hope this prompt has stirred some interesting thoughts and ideas for you! Freewriting is inherently messy and sometimes deeply personal, but if you feel comfortable sharing your results, please post as little or as much as you’d like in the comments.

Previous Prompt

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 11, 2012 12:09 am

    “This is just a drill,” I remind myself, yet I can’t help but feel panic rising up to my chest as my heart beat a little faster than usual. I hear the tiny thump, thump, thump against the screech of the alarm. “The sound is designed to make you a little jumpy”, I recall the teacher say. My breath starts to come in quick and shallow gasps and my skin feel damp and cold. “Clammy, is that the word?”, I whispered the question.

    Everyone else has almost reached the classroom’s door and filing towards the fire exit but I stay glued to my seat. I turn to someone’s shouting voice but I couldn’t understand what he is saying and the sounds slowly muffles in my ears. And I start to feel tired as my eyes blur and are forced to shut tight.

    • Anita M. King permalink*
      August 18, 2012 1:23 am

      You do a great job here of getting across what it panic really feels like physically. Thanks for stopping by!

  2. August 17, 2012 5:29 pm

    What’s inside an alarm, anyway? I’m sure in Anhk-Morpork, there are little imps banging small but very, very loud chimes. But really, what exists that is so small that could be so loud? And what does it feel like to pull one? It’s odd that the act odd the alarm ringing is more terrifying than what would cause it (at least, ever since…the belltower*). Would pulling the alarm be just as terrifying? Why don’t we just have belltowers? I would much prefer the sound of belltowers clanging than fire alarms blaring, even considering the Incident.** That is all I can think of right now, and my phone is about to die. Does this count as freewriting? I certainly didn’t pay for it.

    *A very real and in no way invented traumatizing event.

    **Seriously. It was in Mexico.

    • Anita M. King permalink*
      August 18, 2012 1:24 am

      Gotta love the Discworld imps. You’re going to tell me all about this belltower incident, right?

      • September 7, 2012 6:09 pm

        Yes. Of you insist. But it will have to be over tea. A very, very soothing pot of tea.

      • Anita M. King permalink*
        September 7, 2012 10:19 pm

        Tea can be arranged.

Leave a Reply

