Skip to content

Friday Freewrite #38 – Song

July 27, 2012

Freewriting is an exercise in timed, stream of consciousness writing. It’s a fun and useful activity for writers of all types. Every week, I’ll provide a prompt as a springboard for freewriting. For more information on what freewriting is all about and how to do it, see this post.

*****

Today’s prompt is a question:

What images do you see in your head when you close your eyes and listen to your favorite song?

*****

I hope this prompt has stirred some interesting thoughts and ideas for you! Freewriting is inherently messy and sometimes deeply personal, but if you feel comfortable sharing your results, please post as little or as much as you’d like in the comments.

Previous Prompt

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 27, 2012 1:40 pm

    This is a good prompt. I just found it so, obviously I didn’t do it, yet. Keep at it. This is a nice break from our busy lives of writing. Plus it promotes creativity.

    • Anita M. King permalink*
      August 18, 2012 1:21 am

      Thanks! I hope you find it useful.

  2. August 20, 2012 5:47 am

    Hi Anita, I just found your blog via freshlypressed and I really liked this prompt. So I grabbed a notepad and a pencil, threw on my favourite song and wrote while the song played. The five-minute song flew by, what an intimate way to experience an already personal song! Thanks for the experience. Here’s what I came up with:

    When I listen to Harvest Moon by Neil Young…
    I can smell the fresh pine needles of the Canadian forest
    A multitude of deep greens.
    There’s a ripple in the lake as the golden orange & red sun sets on the lake
    creating a universe unto its own with the reflection from the water.

    The rustic, evergreen, cedar smell
    lingers in my nostrils

    I see my lover in the living room of the cabin holding a glass of red wine.
    I walk over to him & grab his warm, soft hand. He wraps my fingers in his
    safe & enclosed.
    We slowly sway in a lover & romantic dance, alone in the room

    The warmth of happiness creeps up my spine & settles behind my ears.

    The guitar strums.

    Thanks for reminding me what fun free-writing is.

    • Anita M. King permalink*
      August 20, 2012 4:03 pm

      Those are some lovely images, Meredith. Thank you for stopping by and sharing!

Leave a Reply

