Skip to content

Friday Freewrite #35 – Knock

June 1, 2012

Freewriting is an exercise in timed, stream of consciousness writing. It’s a fun and useful activity for writers of all types. Every week, I’ll provide a prompt as a springboard for freewriting. For more information on what freewriting is all about and how to do it, see this post.

*****

Today’s prompt is a question:

Who is knocking at the door?

*****

I hope this prompt has stirred some interesting thoughts and ideas for you! Freewriting is inherently messy and sometimes deeply personal, but if you feel comfortable sharing your results, please post as little or as much as you’d like in the comments.

Previous Prompt

11 Comments leave one →
  1. June 7, 2012 5:09 pm

    She sat, huddled in the darkest corner of her home, shivering with fear. Each second, the man was a step closer to finding her. The cold touch of imminent death hung around her.
    She could feel the vibrations of confident steps ascending the steps of her porch, and tried desperately to become one with the walls and furniture. The breaths that escaped her lips were short, and scared. The man knocked on her bedroom door.
    “Now, River, we’re all civilized people here,” he said as he fiddled with the locked door. For a few tense seconds there was silence. Then River heard the squeaky sound of powdery plastic against metal, and the click of the opening door.
    River watched his shiny, black shoes come closer, and stop. She looked up, terror in her green eyes. The man knelt down and kissed her lightly, and her last, feeble breath left her lips–the kiss of death stealing the remnant of heat from her body.
    She awoke with a start, relieved that the events were nothing but a dream. Downstairs, someone was knocking at the door.

    • Anita M. King permalink*
      June 8, 2012 12:45 am

      Creepy! Now, is this a kiss of death only in that it kills, or is it the kiss of Death–the entity?

      • June 10, 2012 1:28 pm

        Haii Anita πŸ˜€ soooo I began taking the “hair” prompt farther, and it’s already substantially longer than I meant to take it xD I might post it, though if I don’t I’ll post a link and you can just read it in Word!

      • Anita M. King permalink*
        June 14, 2012 11:05 pm

        Heya! Sorry for getting back to your comments so late–this week has been weird, but hopefully I can get things back on track here.

        I saw that you posted continuations! I haven’t gotten to read them yet, but I’ll definitely take a look and comment there. πŸ™‚

  2. June 8, 2012 1:59 pm

    You know, I’m not entirely sure what I was thinking. Though I know this was very Firefly based, so maybe it’s supposed to be like the chap stick Saffron had that knocked Mal out, but stronger and therefore fatal?

  3. June 9, 2012 12:44 am

    Wow the time on here is really messed up! at LEAST an hour ahead of the time here. D’you know if that’s fixable?

    • Anita M. King permalink*
      June 14, 2012 11:14 pm

      Hm, well, I compared the time that it gives on comments here to the time when the comment notifications arrive in my email, and they all seem to correspond correctly. I’m guessing you’re just in a different time zone than I am. I think the time it shows is just based on where I am, not on the location of whoever is reading.

      • June 14, 2012 11:58 pm

        but it’s the same with mine. This think is like 20 hours ahead xD

  4. June 15, 2012 12:05 am

    Wait, now its like. 54 minutes off. I am so confused O.o

    • Anita M. King permalink*
      June 15, 2012 12:08 am

      It’s still showing the correct time for me. I don’t know what’s going on.

      • June 15, 2012 12:08 am

        Ohmigosh, now it’s an hour ahead xP oh well, whatever haha at least it works for you!

Leave a Reply

