Skip to content

Free Comic Books

May 5, 2012

This morning, I’m heading to my local comic book shop to celebrate Free Comic Book Day.

For those of you who haven’t heard of this event, Free Comic Book Day is when, on the first Saturday in May each year, participating comic shops give away a selection of comic books away to anyone who walks through their doors. Besides being fun for current comic book readers, it’s a great way for new readers to dip their toes in without having to spend any money.

I’m fortunate in that my local comic book shop, Flying Colors, is owned by Joe Field, the man who originated the idea of FCBD.

This year is especially exciting with Zack Whedon and Georges Jeanty signing at Flying Colors during the first half. I’ve looked this year’s offerings to see what I want to pick up, and Whedon’s and Jeanty’s contributions are at the top of my list. I’m going to be waiting in line to make my choice before the doors open!

Are you attending Free Comic Book Day this year? Which of the comics being offered this year excite you the most?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 5, 2012 10:26 am

    See, this is the sort of thing you should post on Friday, so I can cancel all my obligations and join you in line! Alas, it is too late now. But it is not your fault. I should be talking to you more often so we could squee together over things, like OMG FREE COMIC BOOK DAY! ! ! ! ! Next year, Anita, next year. If course, maybe we could put out a free comic book of our own. . . [dunh dunh DUUNHH!]

    • Anita M. King permalink*
      May 5, 2012 2:54 pm

      I know! I forgot about it until last night. But I will bring the comics I got to show off, and of course you can borrow any of them!

Leave a Reply

