Skip to content

Friday Freewrite #24 – Lie

February 24, 2012

Freewriting is an exercise in timed, stream of consciousness writing. It’s a fun and useful activity for writers of all types. Every week, I’ll provide a prompt as a springboard for freewriting. For more information on what freewriting is all about and how to do it, see this post.

*****

Today’s prompt is a first line:

“The most successful lie I ever told…”

*****

I hope this prompt has stirred some interesting thoughts and ideas for you! Freewriting is inherently messy and sometimes deeply personal, but if you feel comfortable sharing your results, please post as little or as much as you’d like in the comments.

Previous Prompt

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 25, 2012 12:05 am

    The most successful lie I ever told hasn’t happened yet. It will happen in approximately 20 days. How do I know this? Because I have been planning this lie for months now. 12 months. Yes. An entire year has gone into one little lie. What sort of lie takes so long to plan, you ask? An elaborate bank heist, perhaps. Or maybe some sort of business merger.Nope. Nothing so easy. This thing that I have been planning for an entire year, it’s my wedding. They day when i lie to my fiance, and claim that I will love, honor and obey him for the rest of my life. Sure, I’ll love him, and sure I’ll honor him. It’s the obeying part that I doubt will happen, nor should it happen in any relationship. Agree, yes, but not automatic obedience. That’s for dogs, not people. Not even children.

    • Anita M. King permalink*
      February 27, 2012 11:29 pm

      I love how you write with different voices for these freewrites (unless there’s something(one) you haven’t told me about!).

      • February 28, 2012 8:38 pm

        Nope. No invisible fiance

      • Anita M. King permalink*
        February 28, 2012 9:35 pm

        That’s good. It’s really tough to find the right tux for someone whom you can’t see.

      • February 29, 2012 6:54 pm

        Well he’d be invisible so he really wouldn’t need a tux. Unless we found an invisible tux.
        But then he wouldn’t even have to be at the wedding at all, would he?

Leave a Reply

