Skip to content

NaNo Dares 2011 Week 1 – Acrostic

November 4, 2011

National Novel Writing Month is a time to take risks, so every year in the forums, one can find threads where participants share and accept dares. Dares can be a fun way to spice up your novel or kick-start a scene when you get stuck. Sometimes they’re serious, and sometimes they’re silly, but they nearly always take you somewhere unexpected in your story. This month, in lieu of Friday Freewrites, I’ll be posting a dare each week for your NaNoWriMo novels (or any other fiction writing that you do this month).

*****

Your dare, should you choose to accept it, is this:

Use the first letter of each paragraph in a scene to spell out a word or message.

  • Bonus points if the message is related to a major theme in your novel
  • Double bonus points if you use the first word of each paragraph
  • Triple bonus points if you continue this throughout the entire novel
  • Quadruple bonus brownie points with sprinkles if it forms a story itself

*****

Let me know in the comments if you choose to accept all or part of this dare. And if you have your own dare for others, please share!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. November 4, 2011 8:50 pm

    That was fun. I may do it again when i need some inspiration!

    “a fundamental truth to our nature. Man must explore.” from the Apollo 15 commander.

    +1 relates to a major theme in the novel
    +2 9 sentences, each starting with the next work in the phrase
    +3 yeah right… no way can I do that 🙂
    +4 yup its a mini story in its own right (291 words long) yummy sprinkles…

    • Anita M. King permalink*
      November 5, 2011 12:34 am

      Nice!

      Maybe I should have put continuing it through the novel as quadruple bonus points instead of triple…

      • November 5, 2011 11:08 am

        I’m planning on posting my first draft from the challenge on my blog later today.

        This was really good for me, I’ve even figured out how to slot the expanded version into my overall story. I made it harder on myself by doing it as the fodder for a sprint.

      • Anita M. King permalink*
        November 5, 2011 5:42 pm

        I look forward to reading what you came up with!

  2. November 5, 2011 6:39 pm

    Hey Anita, the post is up now. I can already see places to clean it up, however in the spirit of NaNo I posted it exactly as written, just will a bit of formatting to make it look nice.

  3. November 6, 2011 5:54 pm

    “The just never completely lose hope.” First words of the first paragraphs I wrote today. I will probably never find this after today, but whatever.
    Not even sure if this will go with the main theme of my novel or not. You know how random last year’s novel turned out, so who knows what will happen with this year’s.

    • Anita M. King permalink*
      November 27, 2011 10:42 pm

      Never losing hope sounds like a pretty good theme. How’s it turning out at this point?

Trackbacks

  1. NaNoWriMo: Day 4 Update « Laith's Ramblings
  2. NaNoWriMo: Day 4 Update « Laith's Ramblings
  3. NaNoWriMo: Challenge Response « Laith's Ramblings
  4. NaNo Dares 2011 Week 2 – Babies « Anita M. King – Writing Window

Leave a Reply

