Skip to content

Friday Freewrite #16 – Toy Soldier

September 30, 2011

Freewriting is an exercise in timed, stream of consciousness writing. It’s a fun and useful activity for writers of all types. Every week, I’ll provide a prompt as a springboard for freewriting. For more information on what freewriting is all about and how to do it, see this post.

*****

Today’s prompt is a photo:

Taken in March of 2008 in Morgan Hill, CA

Possible questions to consider: What’s going on in this photo? What does it make you think about? How does it make you feel?

*****

I hope this prompt has stirred some interesting thoughts and ideas for you! Freewriting is inherently messy and sometimes deeply personal, but if you feel comfortable sharing your results, please post as little or as much as you’d like in the comments.

Previous Prompt

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 1, 2011 8:07 am

    Oi! Where’s my body? I just had it a few minutes ago. That stupid little brat threw me out the window and now my body is gone, thanks a lot kid. At least I don’t have to stay in the ridiculous poses he would put me in anymore. Come on, what soldier does the splits while carrying a bazooka? Does this kid know anything about reality? Heck, even on cartoons they don’t do that, despite being able to bend gun barrels to make them shoot other directions. That’s only bugs bunny though. Maybe some cartoons try to be realistic, but they don’t last long do they? Like me. I didn’t last long. Oh, I think I see my leg, maybe I can roll myself over there.

    • Anita M. King permalink*
      October 6, 2011 7:14 pm

      I love that you seem able to write from the perspective of pretty much anything.

      • October 6, 2011 7:17 pm

        *bows* thank you, thank you.
        Lol. I haven’t really thought about that.
        Maybe I should do that for NaNo.

Leave a Reply

