Skip to content

Friday Freewrite #6 – Scary

July 15, 2011

Freewriting is an exercise in timed, stream of consciousness writing. It’s a fun and useful activity for writers of all types. Every week, I’ll provide a prompt as a springboard for freewriting. For more information on what freewriting is all about and how to do it, see this post.

*****

Today’s prompt is a question:

What was the scariest thing you did this year?

*****

I hope this prompt has stirred some interesting thoughts and ideas for you! Freewriting is inherently messy and sometimes deeply personal, but if you feel comfortable sharing your results, please post as little or as much as you’d like in the comments.

Previous Prompt

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 15, 2011 6:52 am

    Oh my . . . the absolute scariest thing I did this year was start my blog! I teach middle school fearlessly . . . I love it, actually. Those budding teenagers don’t scare me at all . . . in fact, they inspire me. But starting my blog . . . yeow. But doing what’s terrifying is good for you, I believe. I encourage my students to get “outside the box” all the time . . . how can I ask any less of myself?

    • Anita M. King permalink*
      July 28, 2011 7:36 pm

      Every time I consider the possibility of teaching middle school in the future, I get really nervous. It’s the age group I feel I would be least equipped to deal with, possibly because middle school was when my own worst school experiences took place.

      This blogging thing is pretty scary! I’ve done online journals before, but I have an entirely different goal for this blog, and I have no idea if it’s something I’ll be able to keep up with. But I’m really enjoying yours so far.

  2. July 15, 2011 6:58 pm

    The scariest thing I’ve done this year is transfer to SF State and commute every day.
    I think moving in a couple of weeks will be even scarier for me though, because I’ve never lived anywhere else, well besides at CLU for a semester but that’s different.
    I definitely need to find a cliff I can jump off of into some deeeeeeeppp water. That’ll be something that actually is scary, legitimately. I bet it would be fun, too though.

  3. September 5, 2011 9:47 pm

    The scariest thing I’ve done this year is a hard thing to decide. Scary is so relative. In a moment, a spider crawling on me seems the scariest thing. In a semester, perhaps the first day of school when you have no idea what to expect. In a lifetime, maybe going to another country, going to college, bungee jumping, or even starting a new relationship after so many have hurt you. So many things in life that we consider scary at the time, we later find strength and courage from. How does one choose just one in a year?

    This year, the scary things that I’ve faced have been many. Accepting Justin as a boyfriend and a partner, losing my grandfather, watching & praying for my mom in her multiple hospital visits, starting a new job on campus, being filmed for the Pixar DVD, and many others that I’ll probably remember hours after I post this. I’ve learned a lot from each one. I’ve gained a compassionate partner that makes every day easier to get through. I’ve gained family photos that would have been lost otherwise, knowledge that my mom is stronger than she thinks and how strong we are as a family. And I’m beginning to learn that I can face new things and do so with composure despite my nerves and anxiety over it.

    Facing our fears is truly (in my humble opinion) the best way to live a full life.

Leave a Reply

