Skip to content

Friday Freewrite #4 – Swing

July 1, 2011

Freewriting is an exercise in timed, stream of consciousness writing. It’s a fun and useful activity for writers of all types. Every week, I’ll provide a prompt as a springboard for freewriting. For more information on what freewriting is all about and how to do it, see this post.

*****

Today’s prompt is a photo:

Taken in March of 2008 at a park in Morgan Hill, CA

Possible questions to consider: What’s going on in this photo? What does it make you think about? How does it make you feel?

*****

I hope this prompt has stirred some interesting thoughts and ideas for you! Freewriting is inherently messy and sometimes deeply personal, but if you feel comfortable sharing your results, please post as little or as much as you’d like in the comments.

Previous Prompt

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Izyy Zuromski permalink
    July 1, 2011 8:58 pm

    Gee…swings…well this reminds me of my childhood. I remember I used to have a system of trying out and rating the swings on the playground at my elementary school. The swings I could swing on the highest were considered the best. Then so on and so on according to height. Since I was usually the most adventurous one out of my group of friends I would choose the one I could force to swing the highest. Afterwards, my best friend would take the second highest. Then came my other friend on the third highest and so on until we were all making those swings work to their limits. I’d often even swing my head back and let go of the chain letting my head hang down under the seat. Yes, I realize this is dangerous…now…but at the time it seemed like so much fun seeing the world upside down. The ground would always seem to come rushing towards my face only to to raise my face towards my swinging feet and the sky above. Swings were the love of my childhood. I even had one at home on which I used to practice various acrobatics. It’s a wonder I didn’t hurt myself. Gee, I miss my swing. Maybe I should get one from the local park. Mwahahahahaha. OK OK just kidding. That’s about it. Yep. Toodles.

    • Anita M. King permalink*
      July 9, 2011 2:01 pm

      The ground would always seem to come rushing towards my face only to to raise my face towards my swinging feet and the sky above.

      I like this description!

  2. July 1, 2011 10:20 pm

    The song “Swingset Chain” by the Loquats popped into my head when I saw this picture. It’s a song that came on my mP3 player and it is so good. It’s all about nostalgia and remembering where that particular group of people came from, and where they are now. I love swings. and playgrounds in general, because they remind me of childhood, go figure. I still love swinging when I get the chance. I will never be too old for swings. Or Disneyland.

    • Anita M. King permalink*
      September 5, 2011 11:58 pm

      No one is too old for swings, or Disneyland!

  3. September 5, 2011 9:33 pm

    Swings were the place of freedom and joy for me as a child. My freest moments were on the swing, either one like this or a tire swing. I’d often check a park for swings and be greatly disappointed if one wasn’t there or if it was full. If I found one though, I’d race over and sit down. Then I’d get settled comfortably before swinging my feet forward and my torso back, clinging to the chains. Swings first taught me how the hard work you put in can be so rewarding as the first few swings were more of a struggle, but the more I did it, the easier and higher I got. Soon enough, I was pushing the limits of the swing and bouncing on the seat as it reached each zenith. Sure, I knew that I was working my muscles and that this was work, but that wind on my face, and together-ness with nature and freedom from the ground, it was all worth it. I laughed at each zenith bounce, and reveled in the flow of the swing.
    With tire swings, the speed of the swing was what set me free. I loved that freedom too, and I preferred it to the regular swings. I made many a friend nauseous with my “higher and faster” methods on the those swings. Nevertheless, I love them so much. I’m happiest on the swings, no matter how old I get.

Leave a Reply

