Skip to content

Friday Freewrite #3 – Breakfast Foods

June 24, 2011

Freewriting is an exercise in timed, stream of consciousness writing. It’s a fun and useful activity for writers of all types. Every week, I’ll provide a prompt as a springboard for freewriting. For more information on what freewriting is all about and how to do it, see this post.

*****

Today’s prompt is courtesy of my friend Chris Yen:

Pancakes or waffles?

*****

I hope this prompt has stirred some interesting thoughts and ideas for you! Freewriting is inherently messy and sometimes deeply personal, but if you feel comfortable sharing your results, please post as little or as much as you’d like in the comments.

Previous Prompt

12 Comments leave one →
  1. June 24, 2011 12:49 am

    Honestly, when it comes to pancakes or waffles, it’s a big NEITHER for me. I hate the texture of both. Pancakes are too soft and spongy, and Waffles are not much better. When it comes to breakfast, the only things that I can handle are: cereal, oatmeal, fruit, or chocolate (hot coco, chocolate muffins, chocolate bars, and the like). I’m a very picky person and eats were ruined for me years ago, same with bacon, ketchup, hashbrowns, and most breakfast foods. I guess if someone put a gun to head and said I had to choose pancakes or waffles, I would prolly pick pancakes because it’s at least all the same consistency and more difficult to make too stiff. But ehh…that’s me.

    There, I participated in last week and this weeks. πŸ˜›

    • Anita M. King permalink*
      June 24, 2011 12:35 pm

      Thanks for participating!

      I get the impression that you could handle chocolate for pretty much any meal. πŸ˜‰

  2. June 24, 2011 5:40 am

    Damn, I’m not first at 5:30 in the morning.
    I love both pancakes and waffles. My dad used to make pancakes for breakfast on saturday mornings all the time when i was little, but he’s stopped doing that so much. But now he makes waffles all the time, for breakfast and for dinner and they’re tasty. I have never had spongey waffles, but they sound horrible. RIght now I could go for a cinnabon, but I seriously doubt I can convince my dad to wait to leave until the mall is open and we can purchase a cinnabon. also, I have Judas stuck in my head. Just thought you ought to know that, cause well, I don’t know. At least it’s not “I lost my heart to starship trooper.” I am mean, aren’t i?
    Capn crunch would be good too. That I might be able to get. Hmm… ANd Pinkberry!

    • Anita M. King permalink*
      June 24, 2011 11:27 am

      Do you realize what I have stuck in my head now?

  3. Izyy Zuromski permalink
    June 24, 2011 8:42 pm

    Ok Anita ya roped me into this one, but since it’s a topic Chris and I have argued about then I shall take up that gauntlet and challenge you to a duel! Oh wait never mind. I mean to say…pancakes or waffles that is the question! Whether ’tis nobler in the mind to suffer the slings and arrows of the golden brown surface of a pancake or a waffle. Oh woe is me! Ok, fine I’m done being melodramatic…for now. Pancakes or waffles? Definitely waffles. Why? Because the texture of pancakes has always turned me off from them. I mean, I suppose they are ok, but they are a bit too soft and squishy for my taste. Besides, I remember my mom used to make pancakes when I was a kid, and she’d often use really bad pancake mix that had an awful sour aftertaste. Waffles on the other hand, are slightly sweet and their texture is all nice and crunchy. Yum yum. Besides, waffles are perfectly paired with maple syrup and not just any maple syrup, but REAL maple syrup. Yes it’s expensive, but it’s well worth the money. Never buy the cheap fake stuff. If someone isn’t a fan of syrup you can always pair waffles with fresh fruit or jam. Can you do that with pancakes? I think not…ok maybeeee with syrup and fruit, but NOT jam! Ha take that pancakes! Actually, I don’t really have much against pancakes; I just like waffles more. Mmmmm, tag you’re it!

    -Izyy πŸ˜€

  4. Anita M. King permalink*
    June 27, 2011 5:00 pm

    Okay, so they may not have the same spontaneity when I know the prompts ahead of time, but I should be posting my own results of these prompts. Here goes:

    The difference between pancakes and waffles is like the difference between regular doughnuts and old fashioned doughnuts. I can barely stand regular doughnuts on most days, but I love the old fashioned kind, and the difference is all in the texture. Pancakes are too uniform and smooth and dense, but waffles have that delicious crunchiness (when they’re done right) that I can’t get enough of. They’re also a little less sweet than pancakes, which is a big plus in my book. I can’t have too much sweet stuff, or I don’t like it anyway, and if I have something sweet first thing in the morning without having something more on the savory side first, I have a tendency to get a little ill. Nobody wants that, right? Especially not your shoes. So pancakes don’t make a good breakfast food for me. Maybe for dinner they’re better, but that’s still a lot of sweet to deal with in one meal. I’m not anti-pancake, I just can’t have much at a time, and I can’t have too much syrup on them, either. I can’t have too much syrup on waffles, but somehow the texture and density help to make up for the sweetness. My brother is talking about Girl Scout cookies through the door while I’m trying to write, so I figure I might go and grab some of those when I finish writing here. Speaking of sweetness, and all. Hey, it’s afternoon/verging on evening, so I don’t have to worry about it being too sweet for my stomach to deal with, right?

    • June 27, 2011 7:48 pm

      I hear you on the too sweet in the morning. However, for me, it’s mostly eating too soon after I wake up in general. LOL. Justin and I are arguing about Apples and Oranges now. Thanks for this. πŸ˜›

      • Anita M. King permalink*
        June 27, 2011 7:56 pm

        Who’s winning?

        (I accidentally mistyped that as “Who’s sinning?” at first.)

  5. The Navigator permalink
    June 27, 2011 8:07 pm

    Pancakes are obviously the better food, given the two options. Waffles are too crispy; they aren’t fluffy, so they can’t melt in your mouth that way a pancake can. The ridges on a waffle block your melted butter and syrup from expanding outward across the whole waffle. You end up using a greater quantity of syrup and butter, with minimal return on investment. This isn’t a problem with a flat pancake. A stack of pancakes holds more batter per square inch than a comparable stack of waffles because the ridges in the waffle leave a large portion of your stack as air. Given these obvious advantages to the pancake, who can argue in favor of the waffle?

    Also, oranges for life!

    • Anita M. King permalink*
      June 27, 2011 11:20 pm

      I can’t agree with you about the pancakes, but I am so with you about oranges. Yum.

Leave a Reply

