Skip to content

Friday Freewrite #1 – Photo Prompt

June 10, 2011

Freewriting is an exercise in timed, stream of consciousness writing. It’s a fun and useful activity for writers of all types. Every week, I’ll provide a prompt as a springboard for freewriting. For more information on what freewriting is all about and how to do it, see this post.

*****

Today’s prompt is a photo:

Taken in November of 2007 at the Martinez Waterfront Park in Martinez, CA

Possible questions to consider: What’s going on in this photo? What does it make you think about? How does it make you feel?

*****

I hope this prompt has stirred some interesting thoughts and ideas for you! Freewriting is inherently messy and sometimes deeply personal, but if you feel comfortable sharing your results, please post as little or as much as you’d like in the comments.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 13, 2011 6:53 pm

    What was the lock ness monster doing in Martinez? Why didn’t I hear about it? They talk about the beavers there all the time, this would be more significant than that. I need to get out there sometimes soon. Or to the beach. I’m so ready for some swimming, and it’s finally warm enough for swimming, though I bet if I had a pool at my house I would go swimming in January. I am a fish. What sort of fish would I be? And what would my friends be? maybe it’d be more fun to be a mermaid. The Little Mermaid has always been my favorite Disney movie. I think part of that was because they actually gave the prince a real name. even though I know too many erics it’s still good that he has a name. Anything is better than charming.

    • Anita M. King permalink*
      June 13, 2011 10:03 pm

      Interesting train of thought! I love “I am a fish;” that’s very you. πŸ˜‰

      For years, Eric was my default temporary name for a male protagonist until I could come up with something better. I wonder if The Little Mermaid had an influence on that?

  2. June 17, 2011 11:41 am

    There was once a man who sat on the lake and fished for hours until the sun went down and switched shifts with the moon. One gloomy morning, where there was no sun, but in its place a veil of cloudy darkness, the man dropped his stuff in the boat, and hopped in, and took his boat into the darkness of the lake. As he approached his way to his usual fishing spot, he started to see dozens, among hundreds, among thousands of ducks. “DUCKS!” The man said. “You better stay away from my fish you silly gooses.” The man was hitting ducks with the front of his boat left and right, and they just kept coming in. Piling on the surface of the water, and surrounding the boat. The man yelled, “Get away you buzzards of death!” He grabs a paddle and starts to whack the ducks left and right, feathers flying everywhere, and a horrible vision of a feathery impending doom. For you see, in all the commotion of fighting away the ducks, the man had not realized that ahead of him was something more than just a duck. A creature of insurmountable terror. And then silence. The man was reported a few days later. The police photographer at the scene was taking pictures of the man’s last known whereabouts. He took dozens of shots that day. But when the photos were developed, one of the photos stuck out. Could this be the answer the police are looking for?

Leave a Reply

